• Britain-Australia Society Award

    The Britain-Australia Society Award

    The Britain-Australia Society Award recognises both British and Australian individuals who have made a significant contribution to our bilateral relations.

    Past recipients of the Britain-Australia Society Award are:

    Kylie Minogue OBE


    The awardee for 2016 is Kylie Minogue who is instantly recognisable worldwide as simply “Kylie”. She was awarded in recognition of significant contributions to the Britain-Australia relationship as an acclaimed singer – songwriter, actor, philanthropist and iconic personality in both countries, for being a powerful contemporary symbol of the enduring links shared between our two nations and an outstanding cultural ambassador for both.

    Kylie’s award was announced at a reception in Australia House hosted by the High Commissioner where Kylie spoke face to face with most of those present.

    The next day Kylie had an audience at Windsor Castle with The Duke of Edinburgh, who officially  presented the award. The High Commissioner and our Chairman were present at that ceremony.

    Barry Humphries AO CBE

    In 2013 our inaugural award was presented to Barry Humphries AO CBE – one of Australia’s greatest UK exports.

    Humphries, otherwise known as Dame Edna Everage or Sir Les Patterson, was recognised as a trailblazer in the media and entertainment industry, who has strengthened British-Australian relations for over six decades. He was presented the award in the exclusive Garrick Club in Central London, after a performance of his sell-out farewell tour.

    The Rt Hon William Hague MP

    The 2014 recipient of the award was The Rt Hon William Hague MP First Secretary of State and Leader of The House of Commons.


    Hague was recognised for his significant contribution as the United Kingdom Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs 2010 – 2014. The award was presented in the Downer Room of Australia House by the Society President, Lord Carrington KG GCMG CH MC DL, in the presence of the Australian High Commissioner to the UK, HE The Hon Alexander Downer AC.









    Image credits
    – Barry Humphries – Eva Rinaldi
    – William Hague – Britain-Australia Society
    – Kylie Minogue – Renan Katayama
    CC licence 1 trsp


    Membership Application form

    Click here to download and fill out one of our membership forms. This can be returned to us by post or email at office@britain-australia.org.uk

    • Britain-Australia Society Sponsors
    • Britain-Australia Society Sponsors
    • Britain-Australia Society Sponsors
    • Britain-Australia Society Sponsors
    • Britain-Australia Society Sponsors
    The Britain-Australia Society Sponsors

    The organisations shown have all committed to supporting this year’s events. Many thanks to them.

    Commonwealth Bank Australia, CPA AustraliaEtihadCA ANZ,
    Godiva ChocolatierTait Memorial Trust and Vestey Foods Group.