History of the Society

In 1971 Sir Robert Menzies and Sir Alec Douglas-Home, former Prime Ministers of Australia and Great Britain, founded two sister Societies.

These are The Britain-Australia Society based in the United Kingdom and The Australia-Britain Society based in Australia. Both these Societies have similar aims, are apolitical and recognise the value of a continuing cultural exchange between the two countries.

Britons and Australians share a rich heritage of family ties, history, culture, language, sport and business and they share a common tradition of freedom and democracy which is enshrined in the legal and parliamentary systems of the two nations. Whilst Australia and Britain must each continue to pursue their own interests, we believe that our warm relationships and shared heritage must always be preserved and cultivated.



The Britain-Australia Society Sponsors

The organisations shown have all committed to supporting this year’s events. Many thanks to them.

Commonwealth Bank Australia, CPA AustraliaEtihadCA ANZ,
Godiva ChocolatierTait Memorial Trust and Vestey Foods Group.