Patron, Board and Management

Patron, Board and Management

Below is a list of The Britain-Australia Society's Patron, Board members, and management team.


  • HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, KG, KT, OM, GCVO, GBE, ONZ, QSO, AK, GCL, CC, CMM


  • The Rt Hon The Lord Carrington KG GCMG CH MC PC

Vice Presidents:

  • HE The High Commissioner for Australia (ex-officio)
  • Sir Christopher Benson DL
  • The Rt Hon The Earl of Buckinghamshire
  • Sir Roger Carrick KCMG LVO FRGS
  • Mr Rohan Courtney OBE
  • The Rt Hon The Lord Goodlad KCMG PC
  • Mr Brian Harris
  • The Rt Hon The Viscount Slim OBE DL
  • Mr Michael Whalley
  • Mr George Vestey DL

Honorary Vice Presidents: 

  • The Rt Hon The Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke PC
  • Sylvia, Countess of Limerick CBE
  • Ms June Mendoza AO OBE RP
  • Mr Barry Tuckwell AC OBE

Board of Management:

  • Mr Peter Benson AM – Chairman
  • Mr Richard Robins – Deputy Chairman, Chairman Norfolk Branch
  • Mr Matt Anderson PSM  (ex-officio) – Deputy High Commissioner
  • Mr John Atkins  (ex-officio) – Agent-General for Western Australia
  • Mr James Mraz  (ex-officio) – Deputy Agent General for South Australia
  • Ms Julianne Davis
  • Mr Dale Eaton FRGS  – National Director
  • Mr Hari Iyer – Company Secretary
  • Ms Vivien Matthews
  • Mr Keith Newton – Chairman West Country Branch
  • Mr Neil Redcliffe
  • Mr Peter Sargent
  • Mr Edwin Wong

Past Chairmen and Directors-General:


  • 1976 Lord Carrington KG GCMG CH MC PC
  • 1979 Viscount Slim OBE DL
  • 1984 Lord Shackleton KG AC OBE PC FRS FRGS FRCGS
  • 1988 Sir Peter Gadsden GBE AC JP
  • 1991 Sir Jack Rampton
  • 1994 Sir John Leahy KCMG
  • 1997 The Earl of Limerick
  • 1999 Sir Roger Carrick KCMG LVO
  • 2001 Mr Brian Harris
  • 2003 Mr Rohan Courtney OBE
  • 2006 Lord Goodlad KCMG BC
  • 2007 Sir Christopher Benson DL
  • 2008 The Rt Hon The Earl of Buckinghamshire
  • 2011 Mr John Allen


  • 1976 Rear-Admiral JE Scotland
  • 1979 Brigadier JJH Simpson CBE
  • 1981 Air Vice Marshal Anthony Caillard CB
  • 1984 Captain SA Stuart
  • 1995 Peter Brind
  • 1998 Colonel Sir Geoffrey Errington Bt OBE


  • Britain-Australia Society Sponsors
  • Britain-Australia Society Sponsors
  • Britain-Australia Society Sponsors
  • Britain-Australia Society Sponsors
  • Britain-Australia Society Sponsors
The Britain-Australia Society Sponsors

The organisations shown have all committed to supporting this year’s events. Many thanks to them.

Commonwealth Bank Australia, CPA AustraliaEtihadCA ANZ,
Godiva ChocolatierTait Memorial Trust and Vestey Foods Group.